Satellite TV

Questions and answers

Satellite TV

Postby carlshaw » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:26 pm

Does anybody know what has happened to Freesat in the Languedoc area, I have been told the satellite has been moved and I need to get a 1.2 metre dish to pick up English TV.
Any info on this would be greatly appreciated.
carlshaw
**
**
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: Satellite TV

Postby MatsH » Sun Apr 06, 2014 8:40 pm

Spine reaction:
Ever heard of Google?
Nice respond:
Check under the headline "PC, internet, telephones, & TV".
You just have to scroll a little bit more...


M
Hammenhög
Sweden
Mats Hard

”Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure”
User avatar
MatsH
***
***
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Orb valley

Re: Satellite TV

Postby peter » Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:59 pm

Follow the discussions here with search : search.php
Image
User avatar
peter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Languedoc, France

Re: Satellite TV

Postby carlshaw » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:13 pm

Spine reaction ? Why bother to reply
carlshaw
**
**
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: Satellite TV

Postby peter » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:12 pm

There are getting on for 100 posts about this lower down. The situation is fluid ... it is changing week by week.

Best to read the posts ?
Image
User avatar
peter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Languedoc, France

Re: Satellite TV

Postby MatsH » Mon Apr 07, 2014 5:49 pm

carlshaw wrote:Spine reaction ? Why bother to reply

Because I gave you the route to every answer you could ask for. It's further down. The next sentence, actually.
Are you just lazy or do you also have reading difficulties?


Mats
Mats Hard

”Longtemps, je me suis couché de bonne heure”
User avatar
MatsH
***
***
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Orb valley

Re: Satellite TV

Postby serge » Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:17 pm

MatsH wrote:
carlshaw wrote:Spine reaction ? Why bother to reply

Because I gave you the route to every answer you could ask for. It's further down. The next sentence, actually.
Are you just lazy or do you also have reading difficulties?


Mats


Harsh.
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine" - William Shakespeare
User avatar
serge
Super Guru
Super Guru
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:21 pm
Location: Still stationary on the Autoroute ..........

Re: Satellite TV

Postby carlshaw » Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:23 pm

Thanks again Mats
carlshaw
**
**
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: Satellite TV

Postby peter » Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:19 pm

Like most I lost UK channels last spring but recovered them end summer. I had a weakening of channels and no HD recently.

Finally getting round to upgrading my satellite installation I am now getting 80% signal strength and 100% quality with all channels well received.

I am in 34160 Saussines (https://www.google.com/maps/place/Sauss ... 21166abca0 ) and now have a 1m Gibertini dish with Inverto Black Ultra Twin LNB.
Image
User avatar
peter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Languedoc, France

Re: Satellite TV

Postby graham34 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:50 am

carlshaw - where a bouts you are is critical. I can get generally excellent reception with a 90cm dish, quality line block and shortish cable run 12Km of Pezenas. Professional dish installers will be more generous with sizing as signal strength received will vary and a bigger dish will be more resilient to clouds and rain.
User avatar
graham34
*******
*******
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:03 am
Location: West London and Aspiran

Re: Satellite TV

Postby graham34 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 11:51 am

What's spine reaction? (and yes I've tried google).
User avatar
graham34
*******
*******
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:03 am
Location: West London and Aspiran

Re: Satellite TV

Postby carlshaw » Mon May 04, 2015 7:58 pm

Thanks Graham, I've got it sorted now with a 90cm dish.
carlshaw
**
**
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: Satellite TV

Postby montgolfiere » Thu May 07, 2015 11:28 am

How is the 90cm. holding out with this weeks lower signal levels?
montgolfiere
*****
*****
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:13 am
Location: Rennes les Bains

Re: Satellite TV

Postby graham34 » Sun May 10, 2015 6:14 pm

montgolfiere wrote:How is the 90cm. holding out with this weeks lower signal levels?


Perfect so far. Not aware of any change.
User avatar
graham34
*******
*******
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:03 am
Location: West London and Aspiran

Re: Satellite TV

Postby gurubarry » Mon Dec 28, 2015 4:59 pm

Well, after almost a year with no reception with a 90 cm Dish in Montpellier , I was playing around with my old FTA box prior to getting a new Canal Sat installation .... new offer of 24 euros a month for Canalsat and Canal + , you cancel the account every year and renew at this offer from a Shop in St.Jean de Vedas ,inc installation ! PM me for details ...and ...All the UK channels are working here ... What IS going on ...so Match of the Day tonight in the Lounge with no pop ups . :D
Moved here 11 Years ago , love it , love Life here.
User avatar
gurubarry
Super Guru
Super Guru
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: Satellite TV

Postby peter » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:14 pm

People around Montpellier tell me they get fine Astra transmissions with 1m dishes except during very heavy rain.

I'm slightly further out and never have problems with my 1m dish
Image
User avatar
peter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Languedoc, France

Re: Satellite TV

Postby gurubarry » Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:18 am

Great stuff Peter , I don't know why the reception came back , but I'm very pleased !
Moved here 11 Years ago , love it , love Life here.
User avatar
gurubarry
Super Guru
Super Guru
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: Satellite TV

Postby peter » Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:19 am

I know someone with 90cm in Castelnou le Lez who is marginal. His goes off in certain weather conditions.
Image
User avatar
peter
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Languedoc, France

Re: Satellite TV

Postby gurubarry » Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:19 am

Thanks, I'll watch out for that, at the moment we are in an anti cyclone , that may be the reason . I wont give up the VPN yet ! :D
Moved here 11 Years ago , love it , love Life here.
User avatar
gurubarry
Super Guru
Super Guru
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: Satellite TV

Postby Genghis Cohen » Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:59 am

I have a 1.2m dish in our house near Lodeve. Last time I was there the signal was sufficient but BBC4 HD had a habit of dropping off later in the evening. Maybe I should tweak the dish alignment.

Normally I live in an area where Freesat reception is impossible. So I rely on the internet. We are virtually at the end of the line so don't expect miracles from our broadband connection. Yet, in recent times, we've been able to watch more and more live UK TV. Seems like something, somewhere, is improving.

GC
User avatar
Genghis Cohen
*****
*****
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: Satellite TV

Postby gurubarry » Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:22 pm

Thanks for the info, We are having a Canal Sat installed today ..24 euros a month inclusive...special offer for 1 year ...then you cancel and re join using your partners' account ....we are assured ! I will ask the installer if he has more info on the Astra footprint .
Moved here 11 Years ago , love it , love Life here.
User avatar
gurubarry
Super Guru
Super Guru
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Montpellier

Re: Satellite TV

Postby gurubarry » Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:57 am

OK...I have the answer .... and very interesting it is, think I . I have a 90mm dish pointed at Astra 19e with a double head LNB fitted for Hotbird etc. I have an ANALOGUE FTA decoder Globesat . I switched on the unit , activated the Hotbird LNB , and in satellite search menu tried Astra 19e. What happened was , the LNB actually locked onto ASTRA 28 , although it reads Astra 19e in my menu . So, to the installers surprise, all the UK channels are functioning at full strength on Astra 28 in ANALOGUE . You can't get them in HD . Sherlock Twyman ...case solved . :idea:
Moved here 11 Years ago , love it , love Life here.
User avatar
gurubarry
Super Guru
Super Guru
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 7:15 pm
Location: Montpellier


Return to The knowledge base

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest